RSS

Using Social Media

27 Jan

Facebook

I had no idea how addicted I was to social media until my blackberry gave out.  It’s insane how quickly we become out of the loop if we don’t have immediate access to a computer or even a cell phone. Facebook has become a worldwide phenomenon and it’s only growing. I first made a Facebook account in the late years of high school.  Everyone had one but me, and that was because I thought it was overrated.  As a joke, I made one and ending up attached to the social network.  Now, it’s as if the world wouldn’t be in motion if Facebook didn’t exist.  As you know, if someone doesn’t have a Facebook they at least know about it. Can you even imagine someone saying the unbelievable phrase…“What is Facebook?” It probably won’t happen these days – perhaps a few years ago.

  • By being consumed by social media, I learned that it’s so easy to stay connected with old friends, new ones and even potential ones.  This is, of course, not limited to Facebook but many other social connections – even YouTube by sharing videos.
  • Even though I’ve had a Facebook for years now, I’m always surprised by how quickly new updates and new things are available. It’s as if I get used to one thing, and then something new is added to the mix.  It’s even hard to believe how people can find and connect with one another so easily. I have friends on Facebook that I went to elementary school with and because of this networking site, I’m able to keep up with everyone and feel like I’m a part of their lives even though we may not see each other often.
  • One thing I would love to know more about would be how Facebook became as big as it has.  How did this small idea of creating a network where friends can socialize become so huge?  Who knew how to even make it so easy and accessible to everyone? To answer these questions, I watched the movie the Social Network.

Regardless of how fast social media is growing, at some point, everyone needs to be prepared to dive in head first in order to stay connected to this world.

This is where social media begins:

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Topics of the Week

 

2 responses to “Using Social Media

  1. emily bos

    January 30, 2011 at 6:31 PM

    Social media is indeed a really huge part of our everyday lives; last semester my phone broke too and I was shocked by how much I couldn’t do and how many people I needed to get in touch with within just a few hours. I haven’t seen The Social Network yet, but I really like how you added this clip into your post because I’ve been wanting to. It’s crazy how these college kids could have come up with the idea of Facebook on their own, but I can’t say it’s unexpected.

     
  2. Barbara O

    February 9, 2011 at 12:21 AM

    Brittany Lorezca

    I completely agree with your blog! we have become so use to social media that it is part of our daily routine. Especially Facebook! Its funny how Myspace used to be in style and now it is rare to hear someone even say that they have one. It is crazy how our cellphones, Ipods,and t.v’s are all forms of convergence now. Can you imagine what will be in style 10 years from now?
    Thank You
    Barbara Oguntola

     

Leave a Reply

 
