RSS

Smoking or non-smoking?

15 Feb

Image Credit: “Lucky Strikes for Christmas” by Bradelygee.

To answer my own question, I’d have to say, non-smoking, please. People have always told me that once you start smoking, it’s impossible to stop.  I wouldn’t be able to vouch for that statement because I don’t smoke.  But I’m wondering if it’s true…I’m sure some people will tell you if it is or not.  Think back many years ago to the era of when smoking began and when controversial advertisements were causing uproar.  These advertisements had a big influence on people’s idea of the ‘coolness’ of smoking.

I would want to be a part of this era of public relations because, without really even noticing the PR side of things, these types of advertisements had a big impact on the world – forever.  Check out this advertisement photo from a magazine to the right. It reads “Lucky Strike separates the men from the boys…but not from the girls.” Obviously this is promoting cigarettes and how smoking can bring you closer to women and make you more of a man.  Don’t get me wrong, when I said I wanted to be a part of this era, it’s only to know what these advertisers were thinking. I would have loved to be in public relations and trying to pitch an idea against this.  Smoking is a serious matter and for those who don’t think so, just ask people around them – someone they know is bound to know someone who has died from lung cancer. I’m aware that whatever product that runs against cigarettes is probably going to fail, but I still would love the challenge.  This advertisement takes no recognition to the fact that smoking isn’t all good, and the side effects aren’t worth it. In fact, it clearly reads, “Smoking is a pleasure.”

Without even realizing it, we see many cigarettes all over our world: people we know, walking down the street, in movies, in television shows, all over.  Back then when cigarettes were first being advertised, it meant freedom for most – today, it just means a higher death rate.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 15, 2011 in Topics of the Week

 

One response to “Smoking or non-smoking?

  1. jlardrey

    February 15, 2011 at 8:59 PM

    When it comes to the statement “Once you start you can never stop,” I believe is true. My grandma pasted away from lung cancer when she was only 52. She had been smoking since she was 15. This habit is one that captures the addict and does not let go. After my grandma died, my grandpa, a smoker as well,tried his hardest to stop smoking,but ultimately he could not. The moral of the story is, like the old says states, “Once you start you can never stop.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
