RSS

Starbucks make-over coming soon

28 Feb
Change – its happens, but not everybody likes it.  This March (which is in a few days) Starbucks will be serving you a new-looking cup.  The Starbucks name will be removed off of the logo and will be solely the green mermaid.  A news article in January from the NYtimes shows the changes in the logo from the beginning and their predictions of the logo in the future.  Controversy over customers’ preference is rising.  If the consumers don’t like the change, they may not buy it.  We all know that even if the Starbucks name is not on the logo, everyone will still be able to recognize where the cup is from.  There’s no question about that. Howard Shultz, the chief executive of Starbucks states in the NYtimes article, “The world has changed and Starbucks has changed.”  The real question is … will everyone be on board with this change?  Is Starbucks too globally loved to ever suffer with business simply from a logo change? Probably not, but only time will tell.

Image Credit: "Nuevo logo de Starbucks" by La Ignorancia Mata


 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in PR Connections

 

6 responses to “Starbucks make-over coming soon

  1. kirsten121890

    February 28, 2011 at 9:55 PM

    I love Starbuck’s and I will continue to love Starbuck’s regardless of the logo change. I am sure there will be people (who are concerned with aesthetics) lashing out about the new logo. It would be interesting to see the sales’ numbers change as a result. Maybe they will, maybe they won’t. Change is good every now and then, let’s hope it is in favor of the business! Thanks for the update!

     
  2. blorezca

    March 1, 2011 at 9:38 AM

    Kirsten,
    I see it the same way. Regardless of their logo or even the color of the cup, I’ll always love starbucks. People are going to have to learn to hop on board with change; you can’t avoid it. Thanks for your thoughts!

     
  3. ertelg

    March 2, 2011 at 7:43 PM

    My dad told me about this a few weeks ago. I freaked out until I realized it was pretty much the same thing. I an realizing that companies are trying to minimize their marketing while still being trendy. I love Starbucks no matter what… Some might say I am an addict(yes, I do have a gold card). But a making the logo simpler won’t make me switch to the local coffee shop anytime soon. Starbucks has my heart!

     
  4. acostadini

    March 27, 2011 at 2:27 AM

    At first I completely did not like the new logo. But I must say that it grew on me. I think that the new logo is fresh and different. It is more simply and I believe that the company’s marketing is on top of things. People are not going to stop drinking their coffee just because the cup looks different. I say embrace change! Great topic Britt.
    ~Ariana

     
  5. ang4546

    March 28, 2011 at 10:12 PM

    I’m a barista at Starbucks and I have to personally admit that I do not like the new logo. I have my reasons, but I have not noticed a significant change in customers since the beginning of the new launch. There is a lot of talk and hype about the siren being up close and personal, and why Starbucks decided to loose “Starbucks Coffee” around the siren, however I feel that it has led to a buzz more or less an interesting topic. I don’t see a huge change with the company for a few more years.

     

Leave a Reply

 
